A Solo Business Trip with Miles of Gratitude for the Little Things

I’m traveling for business and enjoying the people, topics and food at this conference surrounded by intelligent, business-minded, fun people from various parts of the world. However, my heart sank when I got on video chat with my four year old, and he asked, “Where are you, daddy?”

 

You talk to pre-schoolers about anything outside the present moment, and I swear it doesn’t even make a ripple in their brain. My son can really only focus on the present. I love that about him and try to model this for myself at times. 
I miss the everyday little moments as I am 1,400 miles away, thinking about the time getting the kids ready for school, changing diapers, making meals and instructing around the house. 

It seems as if I am wired at times to want what I don’t have. The wiring used to have me chasing the fear of missing out, or FOMO as was recently acronymed by a coworker. We both agreed at how unhealthy that can be. Why do you think that one of the fastest growing genres of books is “living your best life?”

And there is a reason that the number one best selling book of all time is the Bible. We are seeking creatures. And if I am not aligned with God, I am going to have a strong drive to seek something “better.”

How quickly life changes and how quickly the kids would adapt to me not being there. I’ve been gone five days and I’m wondering if the young ones have already forgotten. Sure, maybe they’d think about me, remember vague ideas of me from pictures but at their young age, they would never really remember me. 

Tears welled in my eyes and my heart ached several times thinking about missing a portion of their lives like this. Yes, I know, get over it. It is only four five days, and I feel grateful for having the opportunity. But this week is another reminder for me of just how fleeting time can be.

I hear from parents with adult children, “It goes fast, let me tell you.” This reminds me to cherish the moments, be present and stay grateful. 

Leave a Reply

